Musings

The Hypocrisy of My Desire for Change

I’m always thinking about how the world should change: how to improve conditions for persons in more difficult circumstances, how to change policies which function to strengthen far-right ideals. But when I think about how to change things in my own life, I am always hesitant to enact any of these changes. I want to make these changes but my follow through is weak at best. We’ve all been there, I think, be it about diets or studying or being kinder to your parents.


Change also takes the form of alterations in our circumstances, and I struggle with that equally. I now have to travel for school, and being without the comforts of home, in new terrain, and with different grocery stores, I regress into full mopey me. Anxiety then skyrockets and I cease all productivity. It was not always like this, as when I was younger I could not wait to go to new places and experience new things.

Through the past few months, with going to new places, I’ve tried to make myself go out and do things wherever I am. This has included going to the local swimming pool, trying out new places to eat even if it is by myself, or checking out the local library. It is always scary when I take that first step into an unknown store/ building but I feel like I now have more to discuss with people and have built up my confidence that I can be resilient at times even if I haven’t (thankfully) faced a lot of adversity. Basically, it feels like I’m starting to show up for myself a little bit more.

But a huge part of me still hates change.

How do you cope with change?

Cite your ish:
–  feature photo is my own #newblundstones!
GIF
GIF

Leave a comment